Monday 06 february 2023 - 3:58:49 pm

Three days to go until world-famous Zayed Charity Marathon returns to Abu Dhabi

ABU DHABI, 16th November, 2022 (WAM) -- The countdown to the Zayed Marathon Abu Dhabi has started, with all the complete preparations to host it this Saturday under the patronage of H.H. Sheikh Hamdan bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Ruler's Representative in Al Dhafra Region.

The proceeds of this event will be donated to the Organ Donation Programme supported by the Emirates Red Crescent (ERC).

Lt. Gen. Mohamad Hilal AlKaabi, Chairman of the Higher Organising Committee of the Zayed Charity Marathon, expressed his delight with the huge turnout this race is having from all categories of nationals, expats, and even some tourists in Abu Dhabi, which prolonged the registrations until Wednesday evening.

All participants will be receiving a participation medal and T-shirt with the marathon’s logo, which is an important detail of the preparations done anywhere the marathon takes place.

The starting point of the race will be the Erth Abu Dhabi Hotel, passing the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, then Wahat Al Karama with all the symbolism and eternal nationalism it holds.

The marathon was divided into different categories allowing everyone to participate and contribute to reaching its noble purpose of supporting various health-related activities and programmes.

There will be 3km and 5km races, along with race categories inclusive of People of Determination with disability, hemiplegia, amputation, wheelchair, and the Special Olympics categories.

The prize has been raised to reach AED1 million to be distributed to the participants according to their categories, distance run, and the type of race. The first place winners of the 10km race for amateurs and professionals alike get to win AED25 million, AED15 million for the 5km first place winner, and AED10 million for the 3km first place winner, along with prizes dedicated to People of Determination starting from AED13 million divided between the first ten winners.

Rola AlGhoul/ Walid Farouk/ Esraa Esmail